My updates @ College and whatever in-between.

Photo: Sandgate Beach HDR Violet

23636698630_5213f6d194_o

Happy New Year !

Here is a personal fave that I took a week or so ago. This is a four image merge into HDR which has ended up looking some ND filter due to the soft wave overlaps. I’ve submitted it into the Flickr ‘your best shot 2015’ pool and it’s proven to be very popular, so I hope you all like it also.

Back to college next week and I’ve just been sorting out my LV08 chassis assignment this evening. Hopefully I can get that marked off then it will be more workshop related tasks in the new year which I can share on the blog.

2015 for the college blog has been pretty steady, nearly 200 genuine followers and regular commenters must mean I’m doing something right. It’s clear the site has moved over into more of a photo hobbyist gallery, but since college will finish around June 2016 I will probably carry this on as a photography blog primarily.

I would like to note a few of my favorite blogs this year:

Jazz You Tooย  This has been a great source for alternative listening and generally chilled out tracks.

Ray Laskowitz The Storyteller, a great variety of photos from Ray, many thanks.

Drakes Doodles This site is really interesting, simple doodles of art it’s really worth following !

Playing With My First DSLR Camera Well known blog for macro and close up photography, great for ideas yet I just need to get a better close up lens now !

Colline’s Blog I’ve really enjoyed this blog about the perspectives of teaching, with it’s challenges and rewards it’s been great to follow this year.

Tim Scribbles A car show blog from the US that I enjoy very much.

THE MAD MOVIE RANTER Useful site for knowing what films to check out and the ones to avoid. It’s really that simple !

Forgotten NZ Abandoned places in New Zealand and around the world, I’ve been following this site since I started my own blog and it’s really cool.

Marc Aerophoto Marc will always be joking to me about something on my blog, but you just cannot beat taking photos from the sky ! Marc has been helpful with what to get for my camera so a special thanks to him !

There are many more blogs I can think to include but I need to carry on with my assignment, and why are people doing fireworks already it’s only 21:00PM !

Kenny.

23 responses

  1. Thanks for the shout out Kenny. Good luck with your photography and blog.

    Liked by 1 person

    December 31, 2015 at 10:00 pm

    • Appreciate you stopping by Tim and all the best for you in 2016.

      Like

      December 31, 2015 at 10:17 pm

  2. Thank you Kenny for your comment about me and my blog it is so kind
    Best wishes for the new year
    Happy New Year to the college and very good photos with your new Canon

    Liked by 1 person

    January 1, 2016 at 12:39 am

    • Hi Marc, thanks for stopping by and I hope you are having a good New Year. More photography and martians to come over 2016 lol ๐Ÿ˜€

      Like

      January 1, 2016 at 1:32 pm

      • 2016 will be the year of the arrival of the Martians on earth ! (I have very good informants) lol

        Liked by 1 person

        January 1, 2016 at 7:51 pm

      • We will have to arrange a welcome party for them so all goes well ! ๐Ÿ˜€

        Like

        January 1, 2016 at 8:48 pm

      • Good idea and champagne for everybody !

        Liked by 1 person

        January 1, 2016 at 9:13 pm

      • and maybe red wine also because they come from the red planet lol !

        Liked by 1 person

        January 1, 2016 at 11:23 pm

      • Kenny you have a wonderful sense of humor, definitively !

        Liked by 1 person

        January 2, 2016 at 11:22 pm

  3. Caz

    Happy New Year! So glad you’re enjoying the photography and look forward to seeing lots more!

    Liked by 1 person

    January 1, 2016 at 7:41 am

    • Thanks for stopping by Caz I hope you are having a great New Year also. Many photos to take in 2016 I’m sure ๐Ÿ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

      January 1, 2016 at 1:30 pm

  4. Come to bring you Extra fresh Pawkisses for a Happy and Healthy New Year ๐Ÿ™‚ โค

    Liked by 1 person

    January 1, 2016 at 3:41 pm

    • A Happy New year and all the best for 2016 also. Binky one of the famous word-press cats it’s an honour to have you stop by at the college blog ๐Ÿ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

      January 1, 2016 at 4:42 pm

  5. Wow! Thank you. Ray (Storyteller.)

    Liked by 1 person

    January 2, 2016 at 4:40 am

    • Hi Ray, thanks for stopping by and a happy New Year to you. I look forward to more great posts from you in 2016 !

      Like

      January 2, 2016 at 10:47 am

  6. Thanks for the shout out. ๐Ÿ™‚ I’m going to share a not-so-secret secret. I don’t own a macro lens. :O I’ve had my camera for over a year and I STILL use only the kit lens (EF-S 18-135 IS STM). I stand back, and zoom in. It works pretty well for me.

    Liked by 1 person

    January 2, 2016 at 11:16 pm

    • Hi Amy, yes it sure was a secret until I found out on Flickr since it displays the camera model and lens. Some people don’t share this info but luckily you do. Soon as I saw the EF-S18-135mm f/3.5-5.6 IS STM I’ve really wanted one but they are not cheap. It’s currently out of that or a Tamron 28-300 at the moment although I have not tried an image stabilizer lens yet ! Take care and happy 2016 ๐Ÿ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

      January 3, 2016 at 1:00 pm

      • Photograpy sure is an expensive hobby, isn’t it? The cost is what’s holding me back from getting a macro lens. Happy 2016 to you too!

        Liked by 1 person

        January 5, 2016 at 12:55 am

      • I agree top top end fixed macro lenses are crazy, but even an 18-125 would be a good step up for me so I have more flexibility out and about with my camera ๐Ÿ™‚

        Liked by 1 person

        January 6, 2016 at 11:27 am

  7. A beautiful way to bring in the New Year ~ great photo. Cheers to a great 2016.

    Liked by 1 person

    January 3, 2016 at 7:52 pm

    • It’s a pretty good representation of how it is right now (in between the rain). Many thanks and have a good 2016 !

      Like

      January 4, 2016 at 6:00 pm

  8. Kenny, thank you very much for your appreciation! I wish you lots of pleasure taking and working with your photos, it shows that you are a passionate photographer!

    Happy New Year!

    Liked by 1 person

    January 5, 2016 at 8:16 pm

    • No problem and I’m also a fan of Lost in Braga also a great blog. Many thanks and have a great 2016 also !

      Liked by 1 person

      January 6, 2016 at 11:25 am

Teh comment box :D

