My updates @ College and whatever in-between.

The iPhone 5S FROM HELL: A must read for people who repair phones (now and then)

SANYO DIGITAL CAMERA

Despite not owning a mobile phone device of any sort for a couple of years now I’ve always been good at repairing them or so I thought. It goes way back in time when I owned the Sony P800, once one of the most advanced phones ever created and I did a housing swap on that. Since then phones have been easy for me to fix, from the Blackberry Storm to the Nokia N97 I thought I had tackled the hardest of them all until behold the 5S !

SANYO DIGITAL CAMERA

So this is my brothers phone, and was in excellent condition until last week when it fell out of his pocket while closing his car door… BANG !

Screen completely obliterated and the chassis twisted along with a warped lithium battery but yet the phone was still working away, and I knew it could be saved…

SANYO DIGITAL CAMERA

Roll on a week and it was the moment of truth, I just had to hook up the screen and put in 4 more screws before testing the phone out. I hold the power button and yes the apple logo comes up and I thought all was well..

30 seconds pass and still an apple logo…

Then the screen goes blue for a second and the phone restarts,

Once again the apple logo then the blue screen after 30 seconds…

I was totally baffled as to what had happened then I found this website !

http://hackaday.com/2014/10/19/using-the-wrong-screw-a-painful-lesson-in-iphone-repair/

SANYO DIGITAL CAMERA

Basically I had used a 1.3mm screw instead of a 1.2mm screw in this one thread hole and it’s killed the logic board ! I feel like a real a idiot for doing it but at the same time I had no idea about it. I found one place online luckily only 40 odd miles from where I live who can fix this problem.

http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/281719621417?_trksid=p2060353.m1438.l2649&ssPageName=STRK%3AMEBIDX%3AIT

I’ve dropped them an email to see whether it’s best for me to go over in person or post off the phone. It’s going to cost £60 for this 0.1mm of a blunder, so you can understand I really am not a fan of this device. I think Apple did it on purpose, they could of easily routed the PCB tracks around the screw hole, it’s just insane really ! I’ve spent £55 on the phone so far in parts but this will now go up to £115 for a total repair cost. This is a bit of a random rant post but I thought it would be good to spread the word about this very easy but fatal error and I would not wish it upon anyone.

Apple you make me sick lol 😀

Teh comment box :D

