My updates @ College and whatever in-between.

Book: The Six Book Challenge

SANYO DIGITAL CAMERA

The Six Book Challenge is a recent addition to the new LRC that has been taken on-board well at the college to raise students interests in books and to share the favorite things they enjoy to read. Students are assigned diaries where they can review up to six different titles in a small summary and rating format. They can then submit their completed diary for a certificate and entry for a prize draw taking place in June (I think).

You can review more than just books, with magazines, audio, gaming and film as accepted material it’s usually quite easy for people to soon get an idea for what they can put into their own book challenge. I went ahead and chose the following books for my review:

Of Mice and Men – John Steinbeck

9781907590337

I grew up being aware of this book but never took any interest to it. When I had to read it for my GCSE studies it became an instant favorite. It was an immersive read, thanks to Steinbecks amazing variety of characters, colourful descriptions and emotive storyline. This is a must read !

9781884089930

This is the book that made me decide to go and study car mechanics. I’ve always been amazed by the level of engine customization you can do to Honda engines and this book really shows just how versatile and universal cars actually are under the bonnet.

9780141322759

My favorite book from when I was a child. I love the illustrations by Quentin Blake, and I think this is Roald Dahls best book. It’s quirky, funny, and mischievous to read when you are young and found it to be an imaginative read.

BladeRunner-Sketchbook-e1325126478475

I’ve always loved the futuristic style of the film Blade Runner, and the fan made PDF book featuring stunning concept artworks by notable people such as Syd Mead, Ridley Scott, Mentor Huebner and many more… My favorite illustrations from the PDF have to be the big skyscrapers.

index

I got Custom PC Magazine from issue one because it was, and still is such an intuitive read for the computer enthusiast. I built the best computers for the best possible price thanks to the advice it gave me.

4152KZSPV7L._SX258_BO1,204,203,200_

This book was very unique and shows you all the best places to go skateboarding in the UK. It’s not just about the skate parks but car parks, secret ledges, stairs and slopes you name it it’s in there. It was so useful to use in London !

SANYO DIGITAL CAMERA

That’s all for the six book challenge, I’ll post my next selection of favorite reads if I can enter more than once. Now to finish off that cake ! 🙂

http://sixbookchallenge.org.uk/

6 responses

  1. the cake was good ?

    Like

    April 9, 2015 at 9:42 pm

    • Yes one of the best ! It was really good shame it’s all gone now ! 🙂

      Like

      April 9, 2015 at 11:11 pm

      • You would have been able to keep me a little to taste it LOL

        Liked by 1 person

        April 9, 2015 at 11:21 pm

  2. Sorry but my English is too bad to read books in English…

    Like

    April 9, 2015 at 9:53 pm

    • No problem Marc it’s okay. To be honest a lot of these books are mostly picture based especially the Blade Runner art book.

      Liked by 1 person

      April 9, 2015 at 11:10 pm

Teh comment box :D

