My updates @ College and whatever in-between.

Transformers: Metroplex Repair Update

SANYO DIGITAL CAMERA

Cycling was cut short today as it started raining in Sandgate. I got a few miles in (and a few jumps…) so I decided to turn back and do other important things, not college homework but the Metroplex repair of course 😀

SANYO DIGITAL CAMERA

Enter the “Work Room” or actually just a false wall built by my Dad where we keep odd things, tools, fishing stuff, camping stuff etc.

SANYO DIGITAL CAMERA

I’m on a Quest ! …..tins full of ancient randomness even nail-gun packs wtf, but I don’t own a nail-gun ? Hmm such strangeness in the Work Room…

SANYO DIGITAL CAMERA

I start to come across something I had in mind, bolts of sorts with square shaped nuts. This bolt to the left was way too long though !

SANYO DIGITAL CAMERA

I snapped that bit off as instructed in UKBrawns blog and HO-LEE-FOOK this fits perfectly. No need to take a trip to the local hardware store (actually that place shutdown like 5 years ago).

SANYO DIGITAL CAMERA

I put it all back together but something was not right, the screw for keeping the chest assembly together was not driving in well and it all seemed loose…

SANYO DIGITAL CAMERA

I decided to take more originality away from Metroplex in order to make it work, these 2 tabs were getting in the way and needed to go…

SANYO DIGITAL CAMERA

I also introduced this washer to go in-between the nut to help clamp the body together better and distribute the stress.

SANYO DIGITAL CAMERA

This time it was going better, so I started running this up to see if it would secure…

When I tightened the bolt as you can see in the video it has now slipped perfectly into the plastic recess at the top. From here I rotated the body itself and got these joining pieces very tight. If I kept going the bolt would probably chew up the plastic edges but to be honest this was already a great result…

SANYO DIGITAL CAMERA

Now it’s going together nice and snug, these screwdrivers are terrible though and seriously need replacing !

SANYO DIGITAL CAMERA

Next was the left arm, was not sure how to tackle this but because I had to snap off that screw thread from the so called “crotch piece” I now had a spare screw which turned out to be the correct thread for the arm itself 😀

SANYO DIGITAL CAMERA

Trouble was the hole on the inside for putting the screw through was clearly missing some other kind of plastic washer. I started digging through my PC toolbox for something to make this hole smaller so the screw would not just go straight through…

SANYO DIGITAL CAMERA

I eventually found this flexible metal plate thing in the workroom, or to be more precise I found a tin containing about 300 of them. As you can see I’ve already put the screw through and it’s done.

How I managed to tighten this up was funny, you know I was saying those screwdrivers were crap…Well one of them came apart and this allowed me to use the driver section clamped to some pliers to get inside here and tighten this screw 😀 I swear some things are just meant to happen…

SANYO DIGITAL CAMERA

Omg what an improvement. I was amazed how easy it was as well but I mean I really did get lucky finding those bits and pieces in the Work Room ! Now I really need to find those hands, I really hope I didn’t throw them away somehow.

SANYO DIGITAL CAMERA

It’s funny I thought Metroplex was like the same as Scorponok in size, but damn Scorponok is just crazy 😛 Thanks to UKBrawns blog for giving me the inspiration I needed to carry this out: https://danbugman.wordpress.com/

So what next ? Well I got a G1 Mirage snapped in half so that really needs sorting out…

Kenny.

Teh comment box :D

