My updates @ College and whatever in-between.

The Workshop Computer Needs Updates

IMG_0833

College wise there is nothing good to report, another step backwards really now that I cannot use the Autodata 2014 online software.

Basically all we have in the workshop is an extremely old windows XP machine that is not connected to the internet and runs autodata2004 off a disc, which is becoming redundant as newer vehicles enter the workshop. Everything was good when I was able to use Autodata online at college or at home for tech data / locating components / understanding fault codes / service illustrations etc.. I could get my work done very quick, and I added all the Dover workshop cars into the Autodata favorites to make things faster…

Now last week the licence expired so I made the college aware of it and to get it sorted, which they have done but now they wont let me use it because I was accessing it from home (which breaches the software agreement). The truth is even if I was allowed to use it just at college it’s still wasted, The workshop computer is an offline XP machine from 2002, and there is a more modern PC hooked up in a sub-office by the workshop but after 3 months that has still not been configured to logon to the east Kent college server !

So doing my write ups at home will be annoying because now I need to sift through Internet forums, shops and endless YouTube videos to find things. Luckily I’m pretty good at finding what I want.

7 responses

  1. Jim

    Shame you were using an illegal copy of Autodata, with data that is considerably out of date and no doubt the college had no idea!
    Some of us have to pay for legit data you know… So quit moaning

    Like

    November 20, 2014 at 9:12 pm

    • I don’t think you understand the post. None of the software is illegal, it’s licensed online software that runs through a web browser but we cannot use it in the workshop because of the lack of IT support.

      Like

      November 20, 2014 at 9:53 pm

      • Richard

        hi Kenny its Richard could you send me the ford ka Remove, replace vehicle transmission clutch as trying to get my work done

        Like

        March 26, 2015 at 4:12 pm

      • Hi Rich check your Gmail inbox out for some help.

        Like

        March 26, 2015 at 5:58 pm

  2. Richard

    hi Kenny have you received my email

    Liked by 1 person

    April 3, 2015 at 10:12 am

    • Rich I got an email from you for Google hangouts yesterday which did not work. You can email to my college address directly please and will try to help from there:

      120320@student.eastkent.ac.uk

      Like

      April 3, 2015 at 10:41 am

  3. Richard

    their you go

    Liked by 1 person

    April 3, 2015 at 6:39 pm

Teh comment box :D

