My updates @ College and whatever in-between.

Cycling: Trek Fuel EX6 Service

SANYO DIGITAL CAMERA

Friend needed a service on his bike so I took a look at it to see what it needed. I took it out for a test ride and one thing was obvious, the brakes ! The levers were coming back to the bars with little stopping power. There was a little loose play in the wheel as well so that’s two things to do…

SANYO DIGITAL CAMERA

First was the brakes, shimano bleed kit to get the air out of the brakes.

SANYO DIGITAL CAMERA

New pads above.

SANYO DIGITAL CAMERA

Comparison of the new pads against the old pads. The front pads were still okay so I bagged these up to give back as “emergency spares”…..

SANYO DIGITAL CAMERA

While the rear wheel is off it’s good to clean out the bearings of dirt.

SANYO DIGITAL CAMERA

SANYO DIGITAL CAMERA

Resolving the wheel play was just a matter of doing these frame bolts up evenly and tighter.

SANYO DIGITAL CAMERA

Result: After bleeding the brakes for a while the brake levers still had a bit of travel on them which was baffling me. Once I got the pads fitted though the brakes were superb with very short leverage like they would be from new. With the rear wheel done up properly the wheel wobble had gone too so an excellent result today.

So what do I think of this bike ? It’s very different from my simple old 13″ Kona which kind of threw me off a bit. The geometry on this bike as it is feels very XC and I prefer the much lower center of gravity downhill setups. I think my friend might be getting into more DH trail riding more so I told him to do the following:

Bigger tyres: Something by Maxxis or Continental etc around 2.3.

Shorter stem: The current one fitted is too long in my opinion, too much weight over the front.

Seat too high: Due to how the frame works that is the lowest you can set it ! I’ve said he could cut the post down to get the seat low and out the way, which is what I would do personally.

Teh comment box :D

