My updates @ College and whatever in-between.

104: Spark Ignitions Engine Systems

IMG_1446

 

Finally on my last unit, another optional one but wow what good would it be going into level 2 not knowing how to deal with electrical diagnostics. It’s nearly the end of the college year and I still had not used any ODB readers or data-link equipment for that matter…. So the jobs for 104 are as followed:

1. Removing An Engine Position Sensor

2. Removing An Ignition Coil

3. identifying engine fault codes

So those are the 3 main tasks to carry out and I also need to collect the following data as well:

1. Fault code for engine position sensor

2. Fault code for lambda sensor

3. Fault code for ignition coil

Okay so there is a quick way of doing this. Just take the components off and refit them then look-up the error codes on autodata…. But I thought I would try to actually simulate the jobs by doing the following:

1. Remove/disconnect electrical component

2. Run diagnostics on vehicle so It picks up the problem

3. Refit electrical component and clear the code if needed

 

So lets make a start on the crankshaft sensor:

IMG_1427

Did not know where the EPS was so I went on autodata. According to autodata it’s next to the rocker cover somewhere !? 😀 So with that I decided to look for it myself…

IMG_1442

Wheels up.

IMG_1428

Here it is !

IMG_1429

Now it’s disconnected.

IMG_1433

Next to find the data link connection point firstly via autodata…..

IMG_1434

Or just look around under the dash (this one was very obvious).

IMG_1435

So next it was onto using this for the first time. I had no idea where it was kept so a level 2 student dug it out and ran me through it. It was in a state, the cables all just knotted together in one big mess so i sorted all that out first.

IMG_1441

I was told to use key S44 for this particular car…

IMG_1436

Fitted.

IMG_1437

Ok this fits good as well !

IMG_1432

Ignition on (engine management light on).

IMG_1439

I was shown through the menus and this the resulting code from doing a scan ‘P1633’……. This is the only code that was coming up so I assumed that was for the EPS.

IMG_1443

I reconnected the crank sensor because my lesson was up for today (and the car obviously wont start with it left off). Here is a simple video showing the car not being able to start if the EPS is not connected.

 

 

So now I thought this simple job was done. I checked the code P1633 and it’s not to do with the crank sensor or EPS at all ! So now I am confused as to why the Solus scanner did not even detect the EPS being disconnected ? Also I got this other code to deal with now so I have now looked this up at home:

Untitled-177

These are the code(s) I should of been getting on the Solus based on disconnecting the EPS ‘P0335’ or ‘P0336’ ! :s

Untitled-178

Based on this finding I will be doing the following next week:

1. Charging the battery out of the car or swapping out the battery completely.

2. Checking the main power harness over + grounding wires in the bay.

3. I don’t think the alternator is the problem but I will take a look at it.

4. Go over the Scanner, check personality key, make sure the unit is setup correctly.

So my new task from here is to see if I can clear this 1633 code which judging from what I have found online can be really tricky to resolve, because it can be so many things that trigger this fault.

I will do another update on this next week sometime.

Kenny.

 

 

 

 

Teh comment box :D

